top of page

Copycat Starbucks Petite Vanilla Bean Scones -GF & Vegan!

I created this recipe because I give my twins Starbucks' vanilla beans scones as treats on occasion, and they love them. I wanted to create my own version with better ingredients and without gluten, soy and dairy though, and yesterday, I mastered it!


They turned out quite lovely, and I highly recommend serving these at a brunch or to wrap them nicely to give as a gift. They are very lovely and taste even better than they look.


gluten-free vegan vanilla bean scones

Note: I will link to the ingredients I used. I cannot promise substitutions will work as well, but it should be fine if you keep measurements the same! And speaking of Starbucks, follow @omgyeskona. I promise it will be a very fun account featuring the prettiest girl in the world, Kona. She loves unicorns, starbucks and rosè all day.



Okay, back to this deliciousness:


amazing GF Dairy Free Vanilla Bean Petite Scones

Petite Vanilla Bean Scones

yields 16-20


Ingredients:


2-1/4 cups gluten-free flour (I love this one as it is mostly garbanzo bean flour and lends extra protein)

1/3 cup organic coconut sugar

1/2 TBSP baking powder

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 cup vegan butter, chopped and kept in the freezer for 10+ minutes. I used melt brand.

1/2 cup nondairy milk. I used Oatly Barista Blend oatmilk. If you use something different, make sure it is thick and creamy. and chill it as much as possible before adding!

2 tsp pure vanilla extract


For glaze:


1 cup fine powdered sugar

Nondairy milk (about 2 TBSP)

Vanilla bean, seeds scraped out from about 1/3 of a vanilla bean** this is the MOST important ingredient, so don't scrimp! Vanilla Beans are expensive, but a little bit goes a long way. Buy online for a way better deal; grocery stores charge a ton for just 2 or 3 beans.


plant-based vanilla scones

Directions:


  1. Sift dry ingredients together, pour into a food processor and pulse. Pulse in the vegan butter until coarse crumbs are formed, then slowly pulse in nondairy milk and vanilla. Mix until a ball of dough is formed. If it's too wet, add a little more flour.

  2. Divide batter into 2 discs, wrap and freeze for at least 10 minutes.

  3. Preheat the oven now to 375F.

  4. Roll out and cut into small triangles; you should get at least 16.

  5. Place them on a silicone baking sheet-lined cookie tray with at least 1" in between each, and bake at 375F for 10-12 minutes or until they are set and the bottoms are slightly golden.

  6. Let them cool on a wire rack while you whisk glaze ingredients, then add a dollop on top of each. Enjoy!


Recent Posts
bottom of page